Official Government of Zimbabwe Web Portal


Bulawayo Metropolitan Province is located in the south west of the country, and is the second largest City in Zimbabwe. It is home to about 653 337 people and the population comprises of both sexes of different nationalities although the majority are local Zimbabweans (figures as at 2012).

Harare got the name in 1982, after being renamed from Fort Saalisbury by the British's Pioneer Column. The City is made up of Harare City Council, Chitungwiza Municipal Authority, Epworth local Board and Ruwa Town Council. The Metropolitan Province houses the Capital City of Zimbabwe, Harare Estimated population is about 2,098 million according to 2012 National Census (ZIMSTATS).

Page 3 of 3